Month: March 2013

  • collaborative recital

    exactly a week ago, i had my first hosted recital at northwestern. it was a piano collaborative recital, and i did it for fun, to be honest. my actual degree requirement junior recital will take place in the beginning of june. i wanted to have this recital for multiple reasons. 1) i had to have one performance of my duo sonata for buccheri's duo collaborative class and one performance of my chamber group for my chamber class. i figured, why not put both performances in one recital, like killing two birds with one stone? and 2) i wanted to know exactly how to host a recital. just in case i screwed this one up (logistically), i know what to do to make my junior recital even better. 

     

    in the first half, i played the debussy cello sonata with wyndham tsai and elgar violin sonata with jonathan yu. i really enjoyed the first half, especially the elgar. practice really paid off for john and i. we rehearsed the most out of my other groups and it really showed during the recital. 

     

    i played brahms piano trio no. 1 in b major for the entire second half. that was what i was scared for the most. that fourth movement! arghh haha. i literally remember feeling like i was losing my focus even by the second movement. it was only after i had finished playing the brahms when i told myself, wow.... brahms is hard. like forrealz. /facepalm

     

    in the end, my recital turned out very smoothly. i had my friends who performed helped buy drinks and utensils so that i don't have to be completely broke when i buy all the main dishes (i still had to pay $80 out of my own wallet for the food.. T.T) there were about 30-40 people in the audience which is a very good size for my first recital and for not even putting up flyers. i'd say a good 2/3's of them were from AAIV/my church. my boss and her two daughters came, and my chamber coach and alan chow, especially since he helped coach the debussy sonata a few times. 

     

    it was the first time anyone from my church or AAIV really heard me perform classical music live, so that was really interesting. it was nice to get positive feedback from my teachers and especially from my friends. 

     

    if there was anything i wish i could fix, i wish i had access to a better camera. -__- my stupid camera always cuts off after 10 minutes, and i can't figure out how to change that setting. and at one point, the camera turned off because it was running out of battery... gg. so i have recordings of parts of my performances. thankfully, the audio portion from dan's mp3 recorder (thanks, dan!) is all there.

     

    i learned a lot from this first experience. i'm just nervous to put one for solo, because i know how much more difficult that's going to be. bahh.

     

    but this is what my junior recital program is going to look like:

    scriabin 2nd sonata

    symphonic etudes

    grieg's violin sonata in c minor (with john yu again).

     

    i'm still learning the notes for all these pieces... and i have roughly two months to put everything together. oh sherry... what are you doing to yourself....

  • collaborative recital

    exactly a week ago, i had my first hosted recital at northwestern. it was a piano collaborative recital, and i did it for fun, to be honest. my actual degree requirement junior recital will take place in the beginning of june. i wanted to have this recital for multiple reasons. 1) i had to have one performance of my duo sonata for buccheri's duo collaborative class and one performance of my chamber group for my chamber class. i figured, why not put both performances in one recital, like killing two birds with one stone? and 2) i wanted to know exactly how to host a recital. just in case i screwed this one up (logistically), i know what to do to make my junior recital even better. 

     

    in the first half, i played the debussy cello sonata with wyndham tsai and elgar violin sonata with jonathan yu. i really enjoyed the first half, especially the elgar. practice really paid off for john and i. we rehearsed the most out of my other groups and it really showed during the recital. 

     

    i played brahms piano trio no. 1 in b major for the entire second half. that was what i was scared for the most. that fourth movement! arghh haha. i literally remember feeling like i was losing my focus even by the second movement. it was only after i had finished playing the brahms when i told myself, wow.... brahms is hard. like forrealz. /facepalm

     

    in the end, my recital turned out very smoothly. i had my friends who performed helped buy drinks and utensils so that i don't have to be completely broke when i buy all the main dishes (i still had to pay $80 out of my own wallet for the food.. T.T) there were about 30-40 people in the audience which is a very good size for my first recital and for not even putting up flyers. i'd say a good 2/3's of them were from AAIV/my church. my boss and her two daughters came, and my chamber coach and alan chow, especially since he helped coach the debussy sonata a few times. 

     

    it was the first time anyone from my church or AAIV really heard me perform classical music live, so that was really interesting. it was nice to get positive feedback from my teachers and especially from my friends. 

     

    if there was anything i wish i could fix, i wish i had access to a better camera. -__- my stupid camera always cuts off after 10 minutes, and i can't figure out how to change that setting. and at one point, the camera turned off because it was running out of battery... gg. so i have recordings of parts of my performances. thankfully, the audio portion from dan's mp3 recorder (thanks, dan!) is all there.

     

    i learned a lot from this first experience. i'm just nervous to put one for solo, because i know how much more difficult that's going to be. bahh.

     

    but this is what my junior recital program is going to look like:

    scriabin 2nd sonata

    symphonic etudes

    grieg's violin sonata in c minor (with john yu again).

     

    i'm still learning the notes for all these pieces... and i have roughly two months to put everything together. oh sherry... what are you doing to yourself....

  • twenty-one.

    wow, what a weekend!

     

    so many great things happened, like:

    500+ happy birthday messages from facebook wallposts/messages, texts, calls.

    $20 gift card to panda express from my one and only sister.

    a surprise gift that has yet to be received by my one and only twinnie, jihye.

    the cutest, most adorable powerpoint slideshow made by my one and only love, tiedan.

    $25 gift card to CHIPOTLE from my boss, martha yelenosky and her family!

    chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies from my cute six-year-old student, william gatchell and his family.

    love from my lakeview brothers and sisters. <3

    acceptance into ASPEN with kaplinsky, and BANFF with julian martin.

     

    there were also not so awesome things, but hey, it's part of life:

    23 hours to my 21st bday. um, excuse daylight savings?!

    teaching for five hours.

    watching a mandatory NUSCC recital.

    studying for my intro to psych final, which was today. 

     

     

    and i can't forget the party that went down at my apartment the night before my birthday.

    my roommate, joanne, and i share the same birthdays. we also have a crazy amount of mutual friends because of aaiv. so we gathered a bunch of juniors and threw a party with lots of booze (mainly vodka, beer and smirnoff :P ). it was such an interesting situation because i have never drank with my friends from aaiv. furthermore, i haven't drank with anyone at northwestern since october of my freshman year. so it felt very weird... but we played such cute and kiddie games like charades and catchphrase, which was a lot of fun! our only big drinking game of the night was good ol' kings cup, but even that was so cute because more than half the people didn't even know the rules to the game. and some of them, like my other roommate, esther, who isn't 21 yet, drank soda instead of alcohol. so even though there was drinking involved, it was very, very mild, compared to any other parties i've ever been to. and i like it that way. :)

     

    however, we had a neighbor from the floor below come knock on our door to complain about the noise, and then a bit later, a cop dropped by to ask about the noise. he felt so bad knowing that it was a party with a bunch of asians. we weren't even blasting music at all and he found out that it was our birthdays haha. so instead of being a jerk, he let us off really nicely. but i bet it was that stupid neighbor that called the cops on us. -_-

     

    and right at midnight, everyone sang happy birthday to us. :)  

     

     

    'tis was a very sweet birthday, despite all the other complications going on in my life. the real relaxation will begin once i head home next sunday. but so far, it hasn't hit me yet that i'm legal. that i can do all kinds of things and actually be allowed to do it. i guess, maybe, perhaps, it'll all hit me once i see those slot machines the moment i arrive at the mccarran airport in vegas..... :)

  • twenty-one.

    wow, what a weekend!

     

    so many great things happened, like:

    500+ happy birthday messages from facebook wallposts/messages, texts, calls.

    $20 gift card to panda express from my one and only sister.

    a surprise gift that has yet to be received by my one and only twinnie, jihye.

    the cutest, most adorable powerpoint slideshow made by my one and only love, tiedan.

    $25 gift card to CHIPOTLE from my boss, martha yelenosky and her family!

    chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies from my cute six-year-old student, william gatchell and his family.

    love from my lakeview brothers and sisters. <3

    acceptance into ASPEN with kaplinsky, and BANFF with julian martin.

     

    there were also not so awesome things, but hey, it's part of life:

    23 hours to my 21st bday. um, excuse daylight savings?!

    teaching for five hours.

    watching a mandatory NUSCC recital.

    studying for my intro to psych final, which was today. 

     

     

    and i can't forget the party that went down at my apartment the night before my birthday.

    my roommate, joanne, and i share the same birthdays. we also have a crazy amount of mutual friends because of aaiv. so we gathered a bunch of juniors and threw a party with lots of booze (mainly vodka, beer and smirnoff :P ). it was such an interesting situation because i have never drank with my friends from aaiv. furthermore, i haven't drank with anyone at northwestern since october of my freshman year. so it felt very weird... but we played such cute and kiddie games like charades and catchphrase, which was a lot of fun! our only big drinking game of the night was good ol' kings cup, but even that was so cute because more than half the people didn't even know the rules to the game. and some of them, like my other roommate, esther, who isn't 21 yet, drank soda instead of alcohol. so even though there was drinking involved, it was very, very mild, compared to any other parties i've ever been to. and i like it that way. :)

     

    however, we had a neighbor from the floor below come knock on our door to complain about the noise, and then a bit later, a cop dropped by to ask about the noise. he felt so bad knowing that it was a party with a bunch of asians. we weren't even blasting music at all and he found out that it was our birthdays haha. so instead of being a jerk, he let us off really nicely. but i bet it was that stupid neighbor that called the cops on us. -_-

     

    and right at midnight, everyone sang happy birthday to us. :)  

     

     

    'tis was a very sweet birthday, despite all the other complications going on in my life. the real relaxation will begin once i head home next sunday. but so far, it hasn't hit me yet that i'm legal. that i can do all kinds of things and actually be allowed to do it. i guess, maybe, perhaps, it'll all hit me once i see those slot machines the moment i arrive at the mccarran airport in vegas..... :)

  • these next two weeks are going to be crazy

    and i'm not going to like it. :(  

     

    7 more days until my birthday (which is going to be 6 hours of teaching and mad studying for final)

    8 more days until my last intro to psych final gaaah

    XX more days until i have to make more recordings

    13 more days until my collab recital

    14 more days until HOME.

     

     

    ...and then i can breathe for the first time this year.

  • these next two weeks are going to be crazy

    and i'm not going to like it. :(  

     

    7 more days until my birthday (which is going to be 6 hours of teaching and mad studying for final)

    8 more days until my last intro to psych final gaaah

    XX more days until i have to make more recordings

    13 more days until my collab recital

    14 more days until HOME.

     

     

    ...and then i can breathe for the first time this year.

  • calling on 8

    calling on 8! calling on 8!

    8 more days until my birthday!!

     

    keke. i just had to say that to keep up with a decade old tradition. wow. it's been a decade since i've started this....

  • calling on 8

    calling on 8! calling on 8!

    8 more days until my birthday!!

     

    keke. i just had to say that to keep up with a decade old tradition. wow. it's been a decade since i've started this....